I have the general and abiding impression of a sphere of simultaneity welded to my presence.
Paul Valery


Project                                            Simona Bertozzi, Claudio Pasceri
Choreography and Dance         Simona Bertozzi
Cello                                               Claudio Pasceri
Music program                            F.J. Haydn, Tak Cheung Hui, J.S. Bach, E. Dadone, Toshio Hosokawa, G. Mahler

Light design                                 Giuseppe Filipponio
Organization                               Monica Aranzi
Press                                              Michele Pascarella
Photos and video                        Luca Del Pia


Production Nexus 2021, Associazione Est Ovest Festival
With the support of MiC, Regione Emilia-Romagna, Municipality of Bologna
Creative residency at Lavanderia a Vapore-Center of Choreographic Residency, AtelierSì – Artists in ResidenSì


Built in six movements, with an antechamber and a leave that frame them and, at the same time, mark their origin and projection, Suite Zero unfolds as a collection of events, an anthology of pieces marked by the dialogue between body and cello soloists.

While respecting the typical structure of the suite, that is the succession of: prelude, allemande, corrente, sarabande, minuets, gigue, the texture of the choreographic and musical trend intends to build a new landscape of co-presences, references and interactions that disrupts the boundary of a pre-established order, affecting the rhythmic and temporal perception of actions.

A dialogue between engravings and accidents.

From moments of obstinacy to moments of suspension and evanescence. From the most individual trait to the attempt to get lost in the multiple, to cross over into the unpredictable, Suite Zero affirms its own nature in the deflagration of the dialogue, between body and cello, towards polyphony, towards the multiplication of presences, disseminating sound sculptures and body geometries.


Music program

F.J. Haydn, Minuet from String Quartet Op. 76 No. 2

Tak Cheung Hui, The Mist Inside – Prologue

J.S. Bach, Allemande from Suite BWV 1007

E. Dadone, Recitativi da remoto

Toshio Hosokawa, Small Chant (and Sarabande from Suite BWV 1011 background)

Improvisations on Minuets from J.S. Bach’s Suite BWV 1007

J.S. Bach, BWV 1007, Gigue

G. Mahler, Symphony No. 1, third movement